Arc Montgomery County Celebrates 65th Anniversary

Per the Arc Montgomery County: The Arc Montgomery County kicked off their 65thanniversary on Sunday, June 25, 2023 on the beautiful campus of the Barrie School.  The event, with full reserved capacity of over 300 registered attendees, included the installation of the 2023-2024 Board of Directors, presented by Montgomery County Council President Evan Glass, and an awards ceremony recognizing community partners, including Montgomery Parks Program Access, who have gone above and beyond in supporting The Arc’s mission of inclusion for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Immediately following the awards ceremony there was a celebration picnic with a grill buffet, DJ, raffle prizes, a moon bounce, arts & crafts, and a photo booth for everyone of all ages and abilities to celebrate together.  Councilmember Will Jawando delivered a proclamation honoring this historic anniversary during a cake-cutting ceremony.

Attending special guests included Montgomery County Executive Marc Elrich, Montgomery County Council President Evan Glass and Vice President Andrew Friedson, and Montgomery County Councilmembers Will Jawando, Gabe Albornoz, Natalie Fani-Gonzalez, and Dawn Luedtke. Attending guests also included people supported by The Arc Montgomery County, their family members, employees, community partners and sponsors, and volunteers.

Recent Stories

Thomas Edison High School of Technology is unique among Montgomery County public high schools. Students enrolled in all MCPS comprehensive high schools may apply for enrollment in one of Edison’s…

The Montgomery County Police Department recently launched its Drone as First Responder (DFR) Pilot Program to provide air support to 911 or police generated calls for service in a safe,…

On December 2, at approximately 12:32 am, Takoma Park Police responded to the area of Eastern Avenue and Piney Branch Road for an armed robbery that had just occurred.

Jeannette Reyes has announced that she will be stepping away from the anchor desk after three years at FOX5.


Subscribe to our mailing list