MoCo Board of Education Discusses Evidence of Learning End-of-Year and Performance Data and Makes Administrative Appointments

by MCS Staff

The Montgomery County Board of Education (Board) held a business meeting on September 22, 2022. During the meeting, the Board discussed the Evidence of Learning end-of-year and performance data report and made administrative appointments.

The agenda for the meeting, with related links, can be viewed on the Board website. Watch the meeting recordingEvidence of Learning End-of-Year and Performance Data Report:

The Board discussed the Evidence of Learning (EOL) end-of-year and performance data report. The EOL Framework uses a multiple-measures approach that identifies accountability related to readiness and evidence of student achievement. Evidence from research supports the importance of using multiple measures to determine success of not only students, but also schools and districts.

Read the memorandum to the Board. View the PowerPoint presentation.

Administrative Appointments- The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

Jessica M. Baxter, currently director, Strategic Communications, Arlington County Government, as director of public information, Department of Communications, Office of the Chief of Staff

Aisha Mbowe, currently field journalist/anchor, WHDH TV 7News, Boston, MA, as director of news and marketing, Department of Communications, Office of the Chief of Staff


National Disability Employment Awareness Month, Walk to School Day

Future Meeting: The Board is scheduled to hold its next business meeting on Tuesday, October 11, 2022. The agenda is subject to change. Please check the Board website and meeting calendar for further information.

About the Board of Education: The Board is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.  Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Brenda Wolff, president; Ms. Karla Silvestre, vice president.  Members: Dr. Judith Docca, Mrs. Shebra L. Evans, Ms. Lynne Harris, Dr. Scott Joftus, Mrs. Rebecca Smondrowski, and Mr. Arvin Kim, student member.  Dr. Monifa B. McKnight, superintendent of schools and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 240-740-3030.

Courtesy of MCPS


You may also like

Leave a Comment


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy