Student Leaders Elected and Honored at Annual Maryland Association of Student Councils Convention

by MCS Staff

Per MCPS: Forty-eight student leaders from Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) participated in the annual Maryland Association of Student Councils (MASC) annual Convention held in Ocean City, Maryland this year. More than 500 student leaders from across the state of Maryland attended the conference to participate in leadership workshops, vote on the MASC officers for next year, hear program updates from across the state, and more. Convention Highlights:

  • Angelina Xu (Richard Montgomery High School, Grade 11) was elected MASC President for 2023-2024.
  • Lumina Zhang (Churchill High School, Grade 10) was elected MASC Treasurer for 2023-2024.
  • The Wheaton High School SGA to include Pratiksha Das(Wheaton High School SGA President) and Montgomery County Regional Student Government Association to include Shairee Arora (MCR SGA President) were recognized for hosting the MASC Legislative Session (February 2023).
  • The MCPS Student Leadership and Extracurricular Activities staff were recognized for hosting the MASC Advance Leadership Camp (August 2023) and the MASC Legislative Session (February 2023).
  • 14 MCPS student leaders presented their own self-written workshops to student leaders across the state:
    • Advika Agarwal, Poolesville HS
    • Aliyah Ali, Paint Branch HS
    • Shairee Arora, Richard Montgomery HS
    • Anna John, Walter Johnson HS
    • Arvin Kim, Whitman HS
    • Anusha Krishna, Poolesville HS
    • Thandi Labor, Rockville HS
    • Jason Liaw, Poolesville HS
    • Sophie Nguyen, Rockville HS
    • Sam Ross, Montgomery Blair HS
    • Daniel Suh, Richard Montgomery HS
    • Praneel Suvarna, Clarksburg HS
    • Angelina Xu, Richard Montgomery HS
    • Lumina Zhang, Churchill HS

You may also like

Leave a Comment


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy