Maryland House Majority Leader Eric Luedtke of Montgomery County Named Governor-Elect Wes Moore’s Chief Legislative Officer

by MCS Staff

Governor-Elect Wes Moore has named Maryland House Majority Leader Eric Luedtke of Montgomery County as his chief legislative officer. Eric Luedtke was first elected in 2010 to the Maryland House of Delegates, representing District 14 in Montgomery County, which includes parts of Burtonsville, Silver Spring, Olney, Sandy Spring, Brookeville, and Damascus. Luedtke currently serves as the House Majority Leader, as a member of the Ways and Means Committee, and as Chair of the Revenues Subcommittee.

Luedtke was born in DC and raised in Montgomery County, graduating from Wootton High School in Rockville. He worked as a middle school social studies teacher for MCPS from 2004-15. After becoming a teacher, he became involved with the Montgomery County Education Association, where he served on the Board of Directors.

In January of 2019, Luedtke was selected to Chair the Democratic Caucus in the House of Delegates. Later that spring, following the unexpected passing of long time Speaker Michael E. Busch, he presided over a caucus meeting convened to choose a new Speaker. That meeting resulted in the selection of a compromise candidate, Adrienne A. Jones. Later that year, Speaker Jones then elevated Luedtke to serve as House Majority Leader.


You may also like

Leave a Comment


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy