MoCo’s Lost City: Triadelphia

Triadelphia (“three brothers”) was founded in 1809 by brothers-in-law Thomas Moore, Isaac Briggs, and Caleb Bentley, who were married to the Brooke sisters (Descendents of Robert Brooke, the founder of Brookeville).

“Born of the Patuxent River and then destroyed by it, the mill town Triadelphia knew years of glory as a leading Maryland industrial center.” – Sandy Spring Museum. Today the Patuxent River marks the NE border of MoCo, but between 1809 and the civil war it powered the mills that made Triadelphia a thriving industrial community. At the time, it was even larger nearby Rockville.
As planned; cotton, grist, saw, and plaster mills in the town were all powered by the river. It was the only town of its kind in Montgomery County, but nearby cities, like Ellicott City, were formed with the same purpose. So what happened to Triadelphia?

The same water that helped create the thriving town ended up destroying it. A flood in 1868 causes significant damage to Triadelphia and other surrounding areas. Almost every mill was completely destroyed except for the grist mill. Entire homes were even swept away. 

There were attempts to rebuild some of the other mills, but the Johnstown flood of 1889 completely destroyed everything that was rebuilt. At that point, steam power and gasoline had become far more popular. Railroads were used for transporting goods, so it was beneficial to build towns closer to the tracks, and the decision was made not to rebuild Triadelphia.
 
In 1943, WSSC completed construction of the Brighton Dam. This led to the complete submerging of what was left of the town. Not much remains of Triadelphia, but a graveyard that’s located on a hill overlooking the town did go untouched and a bell from 1837 that once called the mill hands in to begin work for the day can be found at Sherwood High School.
Featured photo courtesy of the Sandy Spring Legacy

Recent Stories

Olney’s Fair Hill Shops shopping center began its summer concert series on May 9th and will continue through September 26th. The concerts take place on the second and fourth Thursday…

Megan Lee of Watkins Mill High School and Kairo Maysonet Walker of Julius West Middle School were the top winners in their respective categories in this year’s “Keeping it Safe…

It has been nearly 10 years since Walmart officially abandoned its plans to open a store in Aspen Hill. The retail giant was intending to build a 118,000-square-foot store with expanded…

The Office of Governor Moore issued the following news release on Friday, May 17:

FEST OF SPRING Caribbean Wine Food & Music Festival

Get ready to experience the vibrant colors, tantalizing flavors, and infectious rhythms of the Caribbean at the FEST OF SPRING Caribbean Wine Food & Music Festival! Hosted by RHU LLC, this exciting festival is set to take place on May 18, 2024, at the picturesque 16700 Barnesville Rd in Boyds, MD.

Step into a world where the Caribbean spirit comes alive! From 12:00 PM onwards, immerse yourself in a sensory journey that celebrates the unique culture, cuisine, and music of the Caribbean. Whether you’re an African American, a Reggae or Soca music enthusiast, a wine lover, or part of the vibrant Caribbean diaspora, this festival promises to delight and captivate you in every way.

Read More

×

Subscribe to our mailing list